About Bulgaria - ICN

Bulgaria is situated on the Balkan Peninsula, in south-eastern Europe. It is bounded by Romania on the north, by the Black Sea on the east, by Turkey and Greece on the south, and by the Republics of Macedonia and Yugoslavia on the west.. The territory of the country takes up 110 993,6 sq. km. The capital of Bulgaria is Sofia (1 117 000 citizens). Bigger towns are Plovdiv (344 000 citizens), Varna (301 000 citizens), Bourgas (199 000 citizens), Rouse (168 000 citizens), Stara Zagora (150 000 citizens) and Pleven (125 000 citizens). The population of the country is approximately 8 500 000 citizens. Bulgaria is one of the comparatively densely populated European countries.
Bulgaria abides by the East-European time, 2 hours ahead of universal time (the time of Greenwich Observatory in Great Britain). Daylight saving time is used from 0 hours on the last Sunday of March till 24 hours on the last Saturday of October.

State System
Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic. It is a united and inseparable formation of one nation. The supreme organ of state power is the National Assembly (Parliament), which exercises legislative power and parliamentary control. It is a one-house parliament of 240 deputies elected for 4 years. Executive power is exercised by the Council of Ministers. The president is head of state and commander-in-chief of the armed forces. He is appointed through direct elections for a mandate of 5 years.
The Bulgarian national flag is rectangular and consists of three identical horizontal stripes - white, green and red from the top downwards.
The state coat of arms is an erect golden lion on a dark-red shield.